Walking on Eggshells by Lisa Chapman and Lisa Wysocky, a book review

​I read, Walking on Eggshells by Lyssa Chapman, which I got on loan from the public library on my phone’s Kindle app via satellite. I was finished with the book in less than three days, not because it was particularly short, but because it was hard to put down. Lyssa and her co-author, Lisa Wysocky, did an excellent job making the book both readable and fascinating.

I love recovery stories so much I should probably join AA or NA. Of course I don’t really qualify, not actually being an alcoholic or an addict. The drinking and drugging I once did was only done as part of my relationship addiction, which Lyssa also has, and worked through beautifully, both in real life and in the pages of her book.

I wish everybody could hit bottom and turn away from drugs, alcohol, and abusive relationships forever! Some people wonder why alcoholics can’t learn to drink in moderation. Some counselors even mistakenly lead that direction. I did the same with one of my ex-husbands. I tried to get him to drink just a little and then stop. BIG MISTAKE!!! He was totally incapable of doing that. I finally gave it up myself and learned that I function much better when I don’t do drugs or alcohol at all, other than one or less Kombucha or equivalent per day. (But we had already broken up for the last time before I learned that.) My husband of the past decade and I both came to understand the importance and the benefits of the nonuse of drugs and alcohol decades prior to our meeting.

Lyssa became famous near the end of her book by joining the reality show her dad and step-mother were in called, “Dog the Bounty Hunter,” in which he would do what had been his job for many years off camera, now for the camera: apprehend fugitives that he had bailed out of jail who failed to make their court appearances. Lyssa’s dad had been a bail bondsman at least from her childhood on.

Lyssa’s mother and father broke up when she was small. They were both alcoholics and users. She did not see or hear from her mother until she was almost in her teens. Her dad got heavily into his addictions for awhile and she suffered from neglect.

She explained how her dad had neglected her but had not abused her. As a result of the neglect, she had suffered abuse while living with her dad in Hawaii. A number of years later, while living with her mom in Alaska, she confided in a friend about the sexual abuse. The friend told the police. When the police interviewed Lyssa, she told them it happened in Hawaii. Both her mother and the police assumed it was her dad, and she didn’t correct them. As a result she became estranged from her dad for several years.

Both Lyssa and her older sister, Barbara, had babies the same year. Lyssa was 15. They were both alcoholics, users and promiscuous from their early teens on (even younger in the case of Lyssa’s drug use.) 

At the age of 14, when her baby was on the way, Lyssa tried to clean herself up, but without suitable role models she had a difficult time gaining permanent sobriety. Her step-mother, Beth, was firmly against drug and alcohol use and had helped Lyssa’s dad get clean and sober prior to the reality show. It is possible that Beth’s stern toughness helped Lyssa as well, although Lyssa didn’t particularly like it at times.

When I finished the book I started reading Lyssa’s Facebook page. Lyssa, I wish you the BEST in your life of sobriety! If there is anything I can do for you, let me know!

Leave a Reply

